Current venues

If you’re travelling by car to races or club events please car share where you can.

NOTE: If poor weather occurs, sessions may be cancelled at short notice! We will communicate via FB

Runners of the Year

Every year at the club AGM our members get the opportunity to vote for a male and female Runner of the Year, chosen from the Runners of the Month throughout the year.

For 2021-2022, the lady winner was Amy Sheer.

ROTY 2021-2022 Amy Sheer

For 2021-2022, the male winner was Dave McGrath, who was also awarded Life Membership of Almost Athletes at 2022 AGM.

ROTY 2021-2022 Dave McGrath



For 2018-2019, the lady winner was Fiona Barnes who recovered from injury to complete 6 marathons in the year and joined the Committee to work incredibly hard as the new Welfare Officer. Furthermore, self-funded, she has worked very hard to become a Coach in Running Fitness and regularly puts her skills to good use leading the club's runs.

ROTY 2018-19  Fiona Barnes


And the two joint gentlemen winners were Ollie Nolan (left) and Matt Polson (right).

Ollie recovered from a broken ankle to complete a number of events which included achieving 1st in his age category. The day after completing Evesham 10k, which included supporting a run2help member, he was diagnosed with brain tumours from which he is now recovering.

Matt is an outstanding athlete who combines brilliant performances with endless encouragement for his colleagues. In addition, he is a member of the club's Mental Health Champions group and has joined the club's Committee to further support its members.

ROTY 2018-19  Ollie Nolan ROTY 2018-19  Matt Polson

For 2017-2018, the winners were Virginia Pawlyn and Michael Grant.

ROTY 2017-18  Michael Grant and Virginia Pawlyn


For 2016, the joint ladies' winners were Glenda Gill and Vicky Kennedy, and the men's winner was Prashanth Sripathi, whose prizes were presented by Ben Smith "401".

Glenda Duncan Gill and Vicky Kennedy ROTY 2017 with Ben Smith 401

Prashanth Sripathi ROTY 2017 with Ben Smith 401

The winners of 2015 were Matt Barnes and Amber Bullingham, being presented with their trophies by Marathon Man Steve Edwards:

 The winners of 2014 were Dave McGrath and Alison Hume:

Runners of the Year

Previous years' winners

2007 - Jean Bryan and Dave Elliott
2008 - Karen Galpin and Dave Asbridge
2009 - Fiona Judson, Nikki Weatherley and Art Williams
2010 - Karen Galpin and Mike Wood
2011 - Alison Hume and Nick Spice
2012 - Glenda Gill and John Galpin
2013 - Helen Fursman and David Chittock (pictured below with Adventurer Jamie McDonald)
2014 - Dave McGrath and Alison Hume
2015 - Matt Barnes and Amber Bullingham 

Runners of the Year